Google Mobile Opportunities for Publishers

Google AdSense on your Mobile DeviceThis week I’m blogging about Google AdSense and various opportunities for publishers across multiple platforms using Google’s suggestions from their Google AdSense in your City series.

The third part of their invitation only session in Vancouver last week covered essential mobile marketing tips and strategies for publishers and small businesses. Here are my notes from the session.

  • Get a mobile site once your website gets 10-15% of visitors through mobile devices.
  • Know how much traffic you get to your site through your analytics.
  • By 2015, Mobile Users will Surpass Desktop Users.
  • In the next 18 months, 15-30% of traffic to your site will come from mobile.

What’s your Mobile Strategy?

  1. Replicate Top Content (retain mobile users that want to access content on the go) ie: CNN
  2. Add unique mobile content (provide additional utility to engage with your brand on the go.

Tip: use Google analytics to find out where your visitors are spending all their time on your site then transition that over to mobile.

Mobile Site Best Practices

  1. Use mobile site redirects
  2. Minimize scrolling, pinching and zooming
  3. Simplify Navigation
  4. Design Pages to Load Fast
  5. User Analytics to Learn and Iterate

Test Your Site @HowToGoMo.com

Google’s Mobile Offering

  • Google AdSense for Mobile
    • Text and Image Ads
    • CPC and CPM pricing
    • Recommended Sizes: 320×50 & 300×250
    • Performance reports: Adsense for mobile content
  • Admob (App) for Mobile Apps
  • DoubleClick DFP – can use for mobile ad management.

Don’t place more than one Google AdSense ad per screenshot. No more than three ad placements allowed per mobile page.

Tip: You can build a free site with DUDAMOBILE – They will do everything for you.

Creating your Mobile Site – Things to Consider

Service Type

  • Do it yourself
  • Find a vendor

Cost

  • Free
  • Monthly
  • Annualized

Time to Build

  • 1 Day
  • 1 Week
  • 1 Month+

Check out your existing Google analytics to determine how quickly you need to get a mobile site up. If you’re in the 10-30% range, now is the time to consider getting one up!

An Intro to Google’s DFP Solution for AdSense

Google's DFP for Small BusinessEarlier this week I posted about the Top 10 Google Adsense Tips from Google’s AdSense in the City series, which I attended with James and Arlene Martell. The second part of the presentation was an intro to Google’s DFP Server Network for AdSense Publishers.

Here are my takeaways from this portion of the presentation.

 

What is Google’s DFP?

  • Stands for “DoubleClick For Publishers”
  • A piece of technology that allow you to traffic ads form multiple sources

 

Benefits of DFP

  1. Central Ad Management – It allows you one central location for ad management
  2. Easily Schedule Ads – Offers reminders to you know to change your HTML code.
  3. Powerful Reporting – Analytics are included, which also gives you the ability for your advertisers to log in and see just their reporting so you can focus on building quality content instead of on reporting.
  4. Precise Targeting – You can geographically target ads to people based on their country, province or state and even postal or zip code based on their IP address. This is the first time this has ever been possible. 

 

Dynamic Allocation

Maximize revenue with Dynamic Allocation. No other platform enables real-time competition for each impression.

  1. Directly booked non-guaranteed inventory competes for the available ad impression
  2. The highest paying booked ad available competes in real-time with thousands of advertisers through Google AdSense.
  3. Impression sold to the highest paying bidder.

 

DFP Small Business is Right for You IF

  • You receive direct requests from advertisers
  • You manage multiple ad networks
  • You need greater control over when, where and to whom your ads are delivered
Here’s a video on how Google’s DFP works on mobile.

Go to www.google.com/dfp/sb for more info  (It’s automatically approved if you already have an AdSense account.)

Check out the DFP Small Business Academy – How to Guide for Google DFP for Google AdSense Publishers.

Top 10 AdSense Tips from Google

Google AdSense Sample

Google AdSense Example

I recently had the pleasure of attending the Top AdSense Optimization Tips presented by Google AdSense in Your City with friends James and Arlene Martell. I found it quite advanced but extremely useful for those at an intermediate to advanced level of Google AdSense.

Here are my major takeaways from the first part of this three part series:

 

What Drives AdSense Revenue?

  1. Revenue Per 1000 Impressions (RPM)
  2. Click – Through Rate (CTR)
  3. Volume of Impressions (Page Views)

Revenue = # of impressions / 10000 x RPM (25,000 x $2 = $50) + # of clicks x CPC (1000 x $0.05 = $50)

 

1. Sizes

Use wide ad formats opted in to text & image in these sizes

  • 728×90
  • 300×250
  • 336×280
  • 160×600

Google suggests to run both image and text advertisers.

 

2. DIV Tags

AdSense loads the highest paying ad first. Therefore check your CTR and place a DIV tag right below the body tag if another ad has a higher CTR: <div id=”ad1”>insert ad code</div>

 

3. Filter with Caution

Blocking ads and advertisers results in less competition in the ad auction and lowers CPMs

Case Study: OES.org

Opting – in to text and image ads, upgrading to wide units helped increase AdSense revenue by 40%.

 

4. Color Blending

Blend ads with your content. AdSense ads are labeled with “Ad Choices”. People who change the colors to match the colors of their site usually have a much higher click through rate.

 

5. Improve AdSense Targeting

Users are more likely to engage with targeted ads. Fill your pages with compelling content first. Check your robots.txt file. Remember the AdSense crawlers reviews keywords, keyword frequency, etc.

 

6. Coverage

Add up to 3 AdSense ad units and 3 link units on every page. Do not post more than three ad placements per page.

 

7. Link Units

To note: Links Units get monetized on the second click (not the first).

 

8. Search

Earn revenue through Search Ads (Google Search Box). If you don’t have a search box on your site, this is a good way of further monetizing it.

 

9. Traffic

Increase your number of ad impressions

  • Add the Google +1 button and engage with social media
  • Create high quality, original and fresh content
  • Build a site your usuers love so they will return

www.google.com/webmasters

  • Use Google Webmaster Tools
  • Follow the Google Webmaster Guidelines
  • Read the Google SEO Getting Started Guide

 

10. Other Tips and Tools

 

Additional AdSense Tips

  • Place ads near your content. Above the fold and embedded in your content.  Make sure it compliments your content. Monetize bounced traffic. Text wrap your content. Break-up large sections of text with these ads.
  • Place ads near navigation – think about how users navigate your site. Top-level navigation and side level navigation work great.
  • Place your ads where users will see them. Check out the Google ad Center called “recommended layouts” which gives lots of examples of best placements of ads, specifically on forums and blogs. Hint: Forums’ top performing ad is the 728×90.
  • Take a unique snippet of ad code to measure performance of both. When you set up ad placements you can set up distinct tracking on those too.
  • Know your Performance Reports – when you’re using the ads unit tab, switch to “matched queries” so it’s most accurate)
  • Always consider user experience when placing ads. You can follow these tips but if the standards don’t make sense for your site don’t feel you have to do what Google recommends. Test for your own site performance and user experience.
  • Use Google’s “above the fold tool” (in Google Webmaster Tools) to help them evaluate where you should be placing your ads.
  • Check out DFP (DoubleClick for Publishers) Small Business – Google’s Free Ad Server Network.
  • With AdSense you can only run three hard coded ads at one time, unless you’re using Google’s DFP that is running ads through another network.
  • Google allows affiliates to use as many ad networks as they like as long as you do not overwhelm the user.

 

Stay tuned for two more posts from this three part series. To come: Google’s DFP Solution for AdSense and Mobile Best Practices for Merchants & AdSense Publishers

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